DIY Chalkboard Quote Door

So, a while ago I saw two pictures…

Screen shot 2013-05-05 at 4.45.18 PM

 

and this sort of happened…

Screen shot 2013-05-05 at 4.44.12 PM

To give you a low-down of what I did, basically it was really simple and easy to do.  I transformed my closet door to an inspiration chalkboard for about $15.  I went to Michael’s, and purchased plain black chalkboard paint, which you can find here.  And then, I got paintbrushes and chalk!  You can probably guess what happened next.  I painted it and then wrote on it!  (Well, this is after you know, paying, and then driving home, and then walking in the door, and then getting to my room, and then yeah..).  So, I painted three coats on the originally white door, and it’s perfectly opaque.  When I started writing on it with the chalk, I did come across an issue, which is a bit of a downfall to this project.  The chalk is so hard on the board that it occasionally scratches the paint off, and reveals the white beneath the black.  That kind of sucks, but I guess it’s a pretty easy fix.  Aside from that, it is great!  I am hoping to change out some of the quotes sometime soon, and I’ve even seen this picture that I might try out…

tumblr_m5zyoniosj1qbpl2ro1_500

…which is the lyrics to one of my favourite songs, Drops of Jupiter by Train.  There really are so many options that you could do with this, so it’s a great summer project!  Here are a couple more pictures of my own door.

IMG_2377

IMG_2378

You may be able to see that the purple Y from ‘you’ is slightly smudged, which I guess is another downfall, but, it happens!

Anyways, I hope you guys enjoyed seeing this little project I did a while ago, and PLEASE let me know if you try anything else like it!  Talk soon!

Pink Chalkboard Door via Happy Interior Blog//Quote Board via HelloKatyXo from YouTube//Lyrics Quote Door via the mysterious depths of tumblr

2 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboard Quote Door

  1. School is killing me right now! I’m sorry, I know I’ve been gone for a little while. I will absolutely be posting this weekend, and pre-writing, so I’ll have some posts for the future. I’m not leaving or anything, just slower until June 21st! Any suggestions for upcoming posts?

Leave a Reply

