Channelling My Inner Serena Van Der Woodsen

Hello!  I hope you are all having a lovely day, or night, whenever you may be reading this!  So I thought I would do something a little different today.  I am going to talk a little bit about what’s been going on in my life for the past few months.

 

So I’ve already told you about high school, and losing friends.  Because my friends and I drifted, it’s been hard to make new friends.  The last few months of 2012 were really difficult for me.  I was so sick and tired of everyone and how nobody would ever pay attention to me.  Unfortunately, it’s the way society works, at least for fourteen year olds.  If you are not interesting or funny, I promise, hardly anyone will like you.  It blows.  I have always been very shy and awkward around strangers, and people that I’ve first met.  Because of this, nobody ever really wanted to befriend me because it seemed like there was nothing special about me.  The one friend that I kept during high school was the only one that actually saw me open up.  It was REALLY hard losing all of those friends, and I expected high school to be better with new people.  I thought I was going to have at least two or three really good friends, but that’s not the way high school works.  If you want someone’s attention, you have to get it.  You socially cannot live high school without being outgoing.  Along with being shy, I am very awkward and quirky.  Whenever I was talking to someone, all I could think about was how uncomfortable I was, and how awkward I was talking, until I would just give up, and only talk to that person if they talked to me.

The new semester has been a real change.  I have learned to be more comfortable around people, and be really friendly.  You have to get completely out of your comfort zone, which I was not willing to do before.  Ask people questions.  Talk to them first. This is going to sound way too cheesy, and I apologize in advance, but I think watching Gossip Girl did this to me.  Serena Van Der Woodsen has inspired me to be more comfortable and less awkward.  She was always a very charming, approachable character, and I wanted to be her so badly.  I am completely aware she is just a character in a drama TV show, and she’s fake and perfect, but her qualities were real.  She always smiles when she talks to someone, and acts like she’s known them for years.

Before I go, I just wanted to say that I am sorry for being gone for this long again….ugh.  But, I am working on an exciting DIY tomorrow, and that will be posted sometime over the weekend.  Thank you guys so much for reading!  Have a good Easter weekend!

Talk soon.

-L

Pictures from here, here, and here.

Leave a Reply

