DIY Collage Desktop Background

Happy Sunday!  So a while back, I found this image of someone’s desktop background on tumblr, and instantly thought I need one…typical me.

I thought it was a great idea to have a collage of all your favourite images instead of just one.  You can do this with just about as many pictures as you want, but I went with 16.  So, I searched around, and I’ve made one of my own!

 I just have some things that either inspire me, or my favourite things on there.  It is always interesting to look at, and I can constantly make more and more, and change it up whenever I’d like.  They are really easy to make and play with in PicMonkey.

To start, go to www.picmonkey.com and click on “Create A Collage”.  Click on “Layouts” on the left, and then click on “Square Deal”.

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 2.51.08 PM

For mine, I chose the third option, which gives you 16 pictures to work with.

To begin placing pictures, all you have to do is click and drag them onto your desktop, and then click “Open Photos” from the “Photos” button on the left.  Choose your picture, and then drag it onto the collage.

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 3.01.26 PM

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 3.03.06 PM

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 3.08.27 PM

Repeat these steps of dragging to desktop, opening it in picmonkey, and then dragging it onto the collage, until you’ve filled it!  You can also make some pictures bigger/smaller like in the original image I showed above.  You can do this by clicking the pace around the image, and dragging it the way you’d like it.

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 3.14.47 PM

If you’d like there to be no spaces around the pictures (no borders), you can click on the “Spacing” slider which is found in the “Background” menu on the left, and drag it all the way to 0.

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 3.19.33 PM

You can of course play around with it any way you want…but I have one more important step before you save it & make it your desktop pic!  You must change the dimensions of the collage, so that it doesn’t turn out blurry.  I just clicked and dragged the sides to make it rectangular, similar to the dimensions of my desktop screen.

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 3.25.53 PM

Now, click “Save” at the top, and then find it in your files, and right click on it, to find “Set Desktop Picture”.  Depending on what computer you have, you may need to go into your setting to do this.

 I just grabbed a whole bunch of images I liked from my tumblr.  It took some playing around with to get them the exact way I wanted.  I considered if the picture had lots in it, which colours it was, and how similar it was to other images around it.  For example, I didn’t want to have all pink pictures in one area, and not anywhere else.  Just fiddling….

VOILA!

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 2.44.24 PM

They are a little time consuming to make them just the way you want them (because I’m a bit of a perfectionist), but so worth it!  I even fiddled around with the size of my desktop icons to make the bottom pictures show better…

But, they are so cool looking!  You can do it with absolutely any images you’d like, including ones of your own.  I’ve got my fav youtuber (Zoella), T. Swift, and Gossip Girl’s S & B.  I also have my painting inspo, and a few things I’m currently drooling over.  The possibilites are endless, and they turn out great….oh, and it’s free!

Talk soon!

♥, Liv

Image of computer inspo found here.  All other images are screenshots of picmonkey.com, or my own desktop image.
Leave a Reply

