My New Project For 2013

Ever since my last semester, taking art has made me a little more creative and want to make art on my own time.  I did a couple of projects that I really enjoyed, and now that it’s semester two, and I don’t have art, I am going to start my own art project!  I am so excited!  The title of this post is ‘my new project for 2013’ because this is going to take me a long, long time to do.  I thought I would share my painting with you along the way of me painting it, and then show you the final result when it’s finally finished.

I re-arranged my furniture in my room a few weeks ago, and now I have a nice big blank wall beside my bed.  (I will be doing an updated room tour when I get everything finished because everything has changed a lot since December!).  I have watched arose186’s videos for about two years now, and I also follow her instagram.  I know she really loves art, and I enjoy looking through her pictures of paintings she’s completed, and just her edgy-arty style.  She posted a picture of a painting of macarons she did, and I immediately fell in love with it.  It’s been on my bucket list to paint something for a while now, and having a little experience from my class, I decided to take a huge leap, and try it!  So, I am going to attempt to paint something similar to this.

8706130c6ee211e28cc022000a9f308d_7

I am not going to completely copy hers, because I do want it to be somewhat original, just inspired by this.  The reason why I like this painting so much is because I went to Paris last April, and macarons are a huge thing there.  When you go out of your continent (and especially to Europe!), it becomes a little special thing for you, and macarons are a cute little reminder of my trip.  I actually don’t like macarons very much, but they are a very pretty food…if that makes sense….(they are constantly on tumblr…), and they come in tons of colours that will match my room!

I have been searching tons of pictures of macaron stacks, and colours, and I have a bit of an idea of what I’m going to do.  I have most of the colours picked out, and I have an idea of a size of canvas, and I know I’m using acrylics, but I haven’t done any sketching, or anything yet.  Plus, I don’t have any supplies because I have never done any art really at home, just in school.  The reason why I say it’ll be my 2013 project is because the supplies aren’t cheap, and I am not always very good at art.  I’m not too worried about the painting part because I just did an acrylic painting about a month ago, but it wasn’t as detailed as the macarons are going to be.  And another issue that comes to mind is that I want the canvas to be huge, so it’s going to have to be a nice painting, and it’ll take a long time to do!  Haha, I’ve never done a painting like this, so I’m a little scared.  But for the new year I have really just wanted to set my mind to something, and do it, and this is something I really wanted to do the minute I saw her picture.  My Aunt is an artist (painter), so I’m sure I can get some tips & tricks from her.

I love how edgy the colour brings in, along with the contrast of the background.  It’s going to look awesome on my wall!  I’m thinking about turquoises, (of course), browns, purples, pinks, yellows, and maybe some periwinkle…whatcha think?

This will take me a while I’m sure, but I’d like to take you along my little “I’m-not-so-good-at-this-whole-art-thing” journey.  So when I start sketching, and purchasing the things I will show you!  And then I will post pictures of the progress of my actual painting too.  I am expecting me to start actually paint probably around May, because I wanted to get the sketches and colour scheme perfect, plus I am busy with school!

But yeah, this is my project/goal for 2013.  Do you have a goal or project for the year?  Let me know in a comment!  I’d love to hear some ideas!  I’m always into the whole bucket-listy things.  Speaking of that, I’ve started a [life] bucket list, and maybe I’ll share with you what I have so far in a little while!  Thank you to Arden for the inspiration, go check her out!  Talk to you soon.

Picture from Arden’s instagram, found here.

Leave a Reply

