Gossip Girl Love!

Hello there!  So I’ve got a bit of a new issue.  Gossip Girl has taken over my life just the slightest bit.  Haha, well let’s just say that I’ve finished the whole series in a month.  That must mean that I’ve watched an average of like four episodes a day.  Yep.

But, the main reason for this post, to talk about how much I love it, and not how little of a life I’ve got here.  

So as I said, I started watching GG at the very end of December, and as of today, I’ve finished all six seasons!  I am so deprived right now.  If you cannot already tell, I adore this show.  I knew I was going to like this show from the very first episode that I watched.

The show is basically about ‘Manhattan’s elite’.  The show starts off with a bunch of billionaire teenagers that are all trying to live their lives avoiding the blog ‘Gossip Girl’.  Nobody knows who Gossip Girl is, but they know who they are.  Gossip Girl posts about their daily lives and forbidden secrets.  Think A from PLL, but not so gory and death threatening.  Gossip Girl doesn’t want these people dead, she just wants to be in control and powerful.  I can’t say too much without spoiling everything, but the show is just about these teens’ (and into their twenties) lives.  Dating, parents, school, shopping, trips, stuff like that.

I think one of the reasons why I like the show so much is because I really love the characters.  I think they did a great job with making the characters generally good people.  Blair and Serena were the two main characters in my mind, and I loved both of them.  I’m not usually like that.  For example, with Pretty Little Liars, I only really like Spencer and sometimes Hanna, and the other girls I’m not really a huge fan of.  I guess what I’m trying to say is they did a good job with explaining the characters’ lives, and making them somewhat relatable.  Even the characters I really didn’t like, I was still interested in their stories.

SPOILERS INCLUDED IN THIS NEXT PARAGRAPH:

So my thoughts on Dan being Gossip Girl….I don’t think it was really that special to be honest.  I came across a YT video with the title: Dan is Gossip Girl!!  a while back, so I was really mad that I knew who it was.  But for me, I think they slowly revealed he was GG.  They didn’t just come out and say it randomly and we were all shocked.  Within the last ten or so episodes when everyone started freaking out and backstabbing each other was when I really started to dislike Dan and realized with all of his writing about other people he was doing, it could make him a good GG.  I only really liked Dan when he was with Serena in the first season, and then he really started to be an ‘outsider’, and he became a little boring.  I hated Dair so much!  SO MUCH.  The episode when Chuck was going to propose to Blair, but then Dan punched him, I am not kidding, I had to google it and spoil it for myself to make sure that in the very end Blair and Chuck would be together.  NOT KIDDING.

Chair sort of made the whole show for me when I they sort of started focusing more on them.  The whole series I was just waiting for them to get married.  It’s funny because it wasn’t one of those things like Dan & Serena where they started dating and then you just longed for them to be together, for Chair it was more of a ‘silly’ reason why they got the idea of them being together, and then it just sprouted from there.  The episode of them in the back of the limo together didn’t really make me like them together, but later in the series it did. I would of changed a lot of things in the series, especially the last 15 episodes or so.  The characters just completely had a major freak out and hated each other.  With Dan writing all of these things, and Bart & Lily, and Rufus with a freaking 1/2 his age Ivy, and William VDW, it was just all sort of heart wrenching when they all just completely hated each other.  I wish they would have done that earlier in season five and then gotten all back together earlier so that it wasn’t so sudden at the end.

I really do hope there’s a movie!  It’s probably unlikely, but I am so bummed that the show’s over!  It was my all time favourite show, and I just felt so ‘connected’ into everything.  The writers did a great job.  I also loved the whole fashion and New York spectrum of the show.  The girls (& guys!) were always wearing amazing outfits to match all four seasons, and I really enjoyed seeing awesome backgrounds including Cali and Paris.

So that’s all I’m going to get into for today!  If there ever is a movie on this show in the future, I will absolutely do a post on it, haha.  And, expect maybe some Celeb Styles on the characters in this show because I got so much inspo off of them.  If you haven’t watched Gossip Girl, PLEASE watch it.  You have NO idea how much I loved it, and I’m sure you will too!  Talk to you soon!  Thanks for reading!

Pictures from here, here, and here!

 

Leave a Reply

